Dissemination Standards Bulletin Board (DSBB)

Special Data Dissemination Standard

(As provided to the IMF by the respective country)

Euro Area*
Index of Data Categories

The European Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) became fully operational in January 1999 when the euro currency unit was introduced, the rates for converting national currencies into euro were irrevocably fixed, and the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) began conducting a single monetary policy for the euro area.

The metadata describing national practices of the subscribing euro area countries (currently all participating Member States) are drafted by the countries and posted on the Dissemination Standards Bulletin Board (DSBB). In addition, supplemental metadata referring to euro area-wide aggregates prepared by the European Central Bank and Eurostat can be reached by clicking on the links below.***

Category Listing

* The euro area comprises Belgium, Germany, Estonia (as from January 1st, 2011), Éire/Ireland, Greece (as from January 1st, 2001), Spain, France, Italy, Cyprus (as from January 1st, 2008), Latvia (as from January 1st, 2014), Lithuania (as from January 1st, 2015), Luxembourg, Malta (as from January 1st, 2008), the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia (as from January 1st, 2007), Slovakia (as from January 1, 2009), and Finland. The Eurosystem consists of the European Central Bank (ECB) and the national central banks (NCBs) of these 19 euro area countries. The European System of Central Banks (ESCB) is composed of the ECB and the NCBs of all 28 European Union (EU) Member States. Beyond the 19 euro area countries there are Bulgaria (as from January 1st, 2007), Czech Republic, Denmark, Croatia (as from July 1st, 2013), Hungary, Poland, Romania (as from January 1st, 2007), Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

**The ECB disseminates two data templates on international reserves and foreign currency liquidity, one for the Eurosystem and the other for the ECB itself. The Eurosystem reserves template is the sum of all euro area member countries data template, plus data from the ECB. Both data templates meet the coverage, periodicity and timeliness prescribed by the SDDS. Since December 6, 2005 the ECB and the NCBs of the euro area release joint tables of euro area statistics and their national breakdowns on their websites. More information here.

***The dissemination of these euro area pages does not imply any obligation on the part of the ECB or Eurostat under the SDDS, but is instead intended to enable the euro area member states to complement the information on their national statistics that they already disseminate as SDDS subscribers.